LFI Logo HomeFoto

Report trees growing at highest altitudes in Switzerland

This is where a champion thrives: Unnoticed by chamois, this mite of 11 cm height, growths in a crevice at an altitude of 2765 m a.s.l.

Trees growing at highest altitudes in Switzerland

Distribution and frequency of native tree species are a main topic of the NFI. But a sample plot inventory is not suitable to record extreme values. Also, information in the literature about locations at high altitudes is scarce at best; and even then, coordinates and photos are missing, thus the location can not be verified.

Report your sightings

We need your help finding and recording trees and shrubs (woody species) growing at the highest altitudes in Switzerland. Please add your sightings to our public logbook using our sightings form.

Rules

The minimal height of a tree or shrub has to be 10 cm measured plumb-vertical in order to be counted as a woody species by the NFI. Every sighting conforming to the requirements will be published on this website as well as the most important findings will be verified by NFI field teams on site.

Basis for research

The goal of this project is to collect reliable information about the location of woody species growing at high altitudes for every tree and shrub species over the whole of Switzerland

The reported and validated sightings will form the basis for a scientific long-term series of measurements to analyze plant growth at the tree line over time. Furthermore, the can provide valuable insight on how climate change effects the distribution of a single tree species.

What makes a tree a tree?

Botanically, a tree is a perennial plant having a clearly upright, ligneous stem. But, many tree species grow dwarfed when influenced by climate, snow pressure or browsing. Especially, a low habit is typical in the transition zone above the tree line. Therefore, not every individual of a tree species shows the actual live-form of a tree.

The tree line however, is formed by trees, which are at least 2 or 3 meters high depending on the cited author. And where is the forest boundary line? According to the international forest definition, a forest tree has to measure at least 5 meters. Therefore, every reported sighting is assigned a height class in order to be able to investigate the altitudes of the different boundary types.

Masthead | Legal issues
last update: 10.11.2017

LFI Logo HomeFoto

Melden Sie die höchstgelegenen Bäume der Schweiz

So gedeiht ein Champion: Noch unbemerkt von Gämsen wächst dieser Winzling von 11 cm Höhe aus einer Felsspalte auf 2765 m über Meer.

Hochgelegene Bäume der Schweiz

Die Häufigkeit und Verbreitung der heimischen Baumarten sind zentrale Themen beim LFI. Eine Stichprobenerhebung ist jedoch nicht dafür ausgelegt Extremwerte zu erfassen. Auch in der Literatur sind Angaben zu hohen Fundorten nur spärlich zu finden – und wenn, dann fehlen dazu Koordinaten und Fotos, sodass sich diese nicht überprüfen lassen.

Melden Sie Ihre Funde

Um die höchstgelegenen Bäume und Sträucher (Gehölzpflanzen) der Schweiz zu erfassen, sind wir deshalb auf Ihre Mithilfe angewiesen. Tragen Sie Ihre Funde in unser öffentliches Logbuch ein. Benützen Sie dazu unser Meldeformular über den nebenstehenden Link und füllen dieses möglichst vollständig aus.

Spielregeln

Die Minimalgrösse eines Baumes oder Strauches muss lotrecht gemessen 10 cm betragen damit es gemäss LFI als Gehölz gilt. Alle Fundmeldungen die den Anforderungen entsprechen, werden publiziert sowie die bedeutendsten Funde durch die LFI-Feldteams vor Ort überprüft.

Grundlagen für die Forschung

Das Ziel dieses Projektes ist es, möglichst über die gesamte Schweiz und zu allen Baum- und Straucharten verlässliche Informationen zum Standort der hochgelegenen Gehölze zu haben.

Die gemeldeten und überprüften Gehölze bilden dann die Basis für eine langfristige wissenschaftliche Messreihe, mit der untersucht werden soll, wie sich das Pflanzenwachstum an der Baumgrenze mit der Zeit entwickelt. Sie können auch wertvolle Hinweise liefern, wie sich die Klimaveränderung auf die Verbreitung einzelner Baumarten auswirkt.

Wann ist ein Baum ein Baum?

Unter einem Baum versteht man in der Botanik eine ausdauernde Pflanze, die einen deutlich erkennbar aufrechten, verholzten Stamm besitzt. Viele Baumarten können aber unter dem Einfluss von Klima, Schneedruck oder Verbiss buschartig wachsen. Besonders in der sogenannten Kampfzone oberhalb der Baumgrenze sind niedrige Wuchsformen typisch. Demnach entspricht also nicht jedes Individuum einer Baumart der Lebensform Baum.

Die Baumgrenze hingegen wird von Bäumen gebildet, die je nach Autor mindestens 2 oder 3 Meter hoch sind. Und wo befindet sich die Waldgrenze? Nach internationaler Walddefinition muss ein Waldbaum mindestens 5 Meter hoch werden. Um die Höhenlage der verschiedenen Grenzen untersuchen zu können, werden deshalb alle gemeldeten Funde nach Höhenklassen gegliedert.

zurück

Masthead | Legal issues
last update: 21.04.2016