The Swiss National Forest Inventory NFI

The Swiss National Forest Inventory (NFI) records the current state and the changes of the Swiss forest. The survey obtains data about trees, stands, sample plots as well as data from enquiries at the local forest service. We publish results about forest area, stem count, volume, increment, yield and many more.

The NFI is carried out by the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) in collaboration with the Forest Division at Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN ). The WSL is responsible for the planning, survey and analysis, as well as the scientific interpretation and publication of the NFI. The political interpretation and implementation is done by the Forest Division.

The inventory was carried out for the first time in 1983–1985 (NFI1), followed by three additional surveys in 1993–1995 (NFI2), 2004–2006 (NFI3), and 2009–2017 (NFI4). Since 2009, data have been collected continuously over a nine-year period. Currently, the fifth inventory is underway from 2018–26 (NFI5).

LFI Logo HomeFoto

Das Landesforstinventar LFI

Foto LFI-Film

Mit dem Schweizerischen Landesforstinventar (LFI) werden Zustand und Veränderungen des Schweizer Waldes erfasst. Mit einer systematischen Stichprobeninventur werden in der Schweiz Daten über Bäume, Baumbestände, Probeflächen und Daten aus der Befragung des lokalen Forstdienstes erhoben. Publiziert werden unter anderem Ergebnisse zu Waldfläche, Stammzahl, Vorrat, Zuwachs, Nutzung und der biologischen Vielfalt.

Das LFI wird von der Eidgenössischen Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft (WSL) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung Wald des Bundesamtes für Umwelt (BAFU) durchgeführt. Die WSL ist verantwortlich für Planung, Datenerhebung, Analyse und wissenschaftliche Interpretation, das BAFU für die waldpolitische Interpretation.

Das Inventar wurde 1983–85 erstmals durchgeführt (LFI1), darauf folgten drei weitere Erhebungen 1993–95 (LFI2), 2004–06 (LFI3) und 2009–17 (LFI4). Seit 2009 werden die Daten kontinuierlich über einen Zeitraum von neun Jahren erhoben. Aktuell läuft die fünfte Inventur 2018–26 (LFI5).

Impressum | Rechtliches
letzte Änderungen: 17.05.2018