LFI Logo HomeFoto

Data acquisition

Measuring on site

After the aerial photo analysis, the sample plots, excluding inaccessible forests, will be visited next. Since the NFI3 the shrub forest has also been recorded.

The field teams measure 13 trees on the average on every sample plot. Additionally, they describe the stand and assess the condition of the site. Enquiries at the local forest service and the road network of the national maps 1:25000 provide further information about ownership as well as timber harvest and forest transportation system.

In recent years, the increasing demand for information has led to an expansion of the data catalog with every new survey. So far, ecological characteristics and information about forest functions have been requested.

Quality assurance

Data for the first NFI was noted down on forms while on the terrain, whereas since the second NFI, data has been entered into field computers and checked for completeness on location.

Since the NFI1 some of the sample plots have been assessed a second time by an independent team to guarantee high data quality. In addition, the field teams are instructed and trained annually.

Employees and costs

The NFI's staff comprises several people from the research unit Forest Resources and Management. Additionally, 8 to 15 teams of two were employed for the field work. Since the introduction of the continuous survey with the NFI4, only three groups have been doing field work. These foresters and forest wardens receive additional training and further education for their job periodically.

The expenditure for data collection and verification amounted to 100 man years in the first NFI. The total cost per sample plot were some CHF 550. After the first inventory the permanent sample plots did not have to be marked anymore, but this cost saving was offset by price increases in NFI2. Because of a lower budget allocation for NFI2, the number of sample plots had to be reduced.

Equipment

Field teams are equipped with a minibus. Each NFI group is also supplied with a GPS, a vertex hypsometer, and a Finnish parabolic caliper. A Finnish parabolic caliper is used to measure stem diameters at 7 meters above the tree base. This diameter, the diameter measured at 1.3 m and the height of the tree, are used to calculate the volume of the tree.

Masthead | Legal issues
last update: 10.11.2017

LFI Logo HomeFoto

So werden die Daten erhoben

Datenerhebung im Wald

Nach der Luftbildinterpretation werden, mit Ausnahme der unzugänglichen Wälder, die Waldprobeflächen im Gelände aufgesucht. Seit dem LFI3 wird auch der Gebüschwald aufgenommen.

Die Aufnahmegruppen vermessen auf der Probefläche durchschnittlich 13 Bäume. Zudem beschreiben sie den Baumbestand und beurteilen die Standortverhältnisse. Umfragen beim lokalen Forstdienst und das Wegenetz der Landeskarten 1:25000 liefern Angaben über Eigentumsverhältnisse sowie Informationen zur Holzernte und zur Walderschliessung.

Der zunehmende Informationsbedarf unserer Zeit verlangt mit jeder neuen Inventur auch nach einer Erweiterung des Datenkatalogs. Dabei handelte es sich bisher insbesondere um ökologische Kenngrössen und Informationen zu den verschiedenen Waldfunktionen.

Qualitätssicherung

Die Daten zum ersten Landesforstinventar wurden im Gelände auf Formulare notiert. Seit dem zweiten LFI werden die Daten direkt mit Feldcomputern erfasst und noch im Wald auf Vollständigkeit überprüft.

Im Interesse einer hohen Datenqualität werden seit dem LFI1 ein Teil der Probeflächen durch unabhängige Kontrollgruppen ein zweites Mal aufgenommen. Die Aufnahmegruppen werden jährlich neu aus- und weitergebildet.

Personal und Kosten

Der Stab des LFI umfasst mehrere Personen aus der Forschungseinheit Waldressourcen und Waldmanagement. Für die Feldaufnahmen wurden jeweils zusätzlich 8 bis 15 Teams zu zwei Personen eingestellt. Seit der Einführung der kontinuierlichen Erhebung im LFI4 sind noch 3 Gruppen unterwegs. Diese Forstingenieure, Förster und Forstwarte erhalten für ihre Aufgabe eine zusätzliche Schulung und eine periodische Weiterbildung.

Der Aufwand für die Datenerhebung und -kontrolle belief sich im ersten LFI auf 100 Mannjahre. Die Gesamtkosten pro Waldprobefläche kamen auf etwa Fr. 550.- zu stehen. Seither müssen diese permanenten Probeflächen nicht mehr eingemessen werden. Diese Kostenersparnis wurde aber im LFI2 durch die Teuerung egalisiert. Da das Budget jedoch deutlich kleiner war als im LFI1, musste die Anzahl Probeflächen reduziert werden.

Material

Jede Aufnahmegruppe ist mit einem Kleinbus ausgerüstet. Zum Material einer LFI-Gruppe gehören auch ein GPS, ein Vertex-Baumhöhenmesser und die Finnenkluppe. Mit dieser wird der Baumdurchmesser in 7 m Höhe gemessen. Dieser Durchmesser und jener gemessen auf 1,3 m Höhe dienen zusammen mit der Baumhöhe zur Berechnung des Baumvolumens.
Impressum | Rechtliches
letzte Änderungen: 17.10.2017