LFI Logo HomeFoto

Data acquisition

Foto Luftbildinterpretation

Analyzing aerial photos. Special polarizing glasses help the analyst to perceive the photos in 3D.

photo of aerial photointerpretation

Forest definition according to the Swiss National Forest Inventory (NFI).

Taking a bird's eye view

Some information can be obtained from aerial photos with less effort than by measuring it in the forest on site. Therefore, since the second NFI the data from the aerial photos has been recorded every 500m and, as a consequence, the number of terrestrial sample plots was able to be reduced by half.

Due to this densification and the development of particular statistical methods, data about the forest stand, the number of trees and the area covered with forest will be acquired with the same accuracy as in the NFI1. Additionally, the number of single trees and the length of narrow strips of groves will be measured on the aerial photos in areas outside of the forest. In the NFI3 digital color photos were used instead of grayscale photos for the very first time.

What counts as forest in the NFI?

Forest or non-forest? Specialists clarify this question by using aerial photos. The height and width of the tree stand determines whether an area is considered forest. In addition, the tree crowns have to cover at least 20% of the area (degree of cover).

Afforestations, regenerating areas, shrub forests and temporarily non-stocked areas (e.g. cutting areas) require no minimal height.

Masthead | Legal issues
last update: 17.10.2017

LFI Logo HomeFoto

So werden die Daten erhoben

Foto Luftbildinterpretation

Luftbildinterpretin bei der Arbeit. Mit Hilfe einer Spezialbrille wird das Luftbildmodell räumlich wahrgenommen.

Foto Luftbildinterpretation

Walddefinition gemäss Schweizerischem Landesforstinventar (LFI).

Luftbildinterpretation mit modernsten Geräten

Diverse Informationen zum Waldaufbau können aus dem Luftbild mit weniger Aufwand erhoben werden als draussen im Wald. Deshalb werden seit dem zweiten LFI die Luftbilddaten im 500m-Netz erhoben und als Folge konnte die Zahl der terrestrischen Probeflächen halbiert werden.

Dank dieser Verdichtung und speziell entwickelten statistischen Methoden können Holzvorrat, Stammzahl und Waldfläche ebenso genau ermittelt werden wie im LFI1. Zusätzlich werden mit den Luftbildern im Nichtwaldareal auch die Anzahl Einzelbäume und die Länge der linienförmigen Flurgehölze ermittelt. Im LFI3 wurde erstmals mit digitalen Farbbildern anstelle von Graustufen-Bildern gearbeitet.

Walddefinition im LFI

Wald oder Nichtwald ? Diese Frage klären Spezialisten anhand von Luftbildern ab. Ob eine Fläche als Wald gilt, ist abhängig von der Breite und der Baumhöhe der Bestockung. Zudem müssen die Baumkronen mindestens 20% der Fläche bedecken (Deckungsgrad).

Bei Aufforstungen, Verjüngungen, Gebüschwäldern und vorübergehend nicht bestockten Waldflächen (z.B. Schlagflächen) ist keine minimale Oberhöhe verlangt.

Impressum | Rechtliches
letzte Änderungen: 17.10.2017